Close this search box.

Add State Employees Association Of NC To Cheri Beasley’s Impressive List Of Endorsements In US Senate Run

Former North Carolina Supreme Court Chief Justice Cheri Beasley, who is running for the U.S. Senate as a Democrat, has added another big endorsement to an already impressive list.

EMPAC, the political arm of the State Employees Association of North Carolina (SEANC), announced last week that its members had agreed to endorse Beasley in her bid to fill the seat currently held by Republican Richard Burr, who previously announced he would not run for re-election.

“Cheri represents the very best of public service,” said Mark Dearmon, EMPAC Statewide Chairman. “She’s seen people at the lowest points in their lives and has shown the ability to protect justice while retaining common-sense empathy. Working people need a fighter like her in Washington.”

SEANC’s endorsement can be added to the list that already includes more than 200 leaders and over 100 organizations. Others who have endorsed Beasley include Gov. Roy Cooper, Attorney General Josh Stein, all Democratic members of the state’s congressional delegation, Planned Parenthood, the North Carolina Association of Educators and the NC AFL-CIO.

In addition to her role as chief justice of the state’s supreme court, Beasley spent six years as a public defender and more than 20 years as a judge.

Beasley is likely to take on Rep. Ted Budd (R-NC 13th District) in November’s election. Budd, whose election would be a disaster for both North Carolina and the rest of the country, has been endorsed by the twice-impeached former President Donald Trump, as well as North Carolina’s highly controversial and hypocritical Lt. Gov. Mark Robinson.

A CBS 17/The Hill/Emerson College poll shows Budd with 38 percent support in the Republican primary. Undecided voters rank second at 23 percent. Former Gov. Pat McCrory has the support of 22 percent of Republican primary voters, according to the poll.

Early voting for the primaries began on April 28 and runs until 3 p.m. on May 14. For those who don’t vote early, Election Day is May 17.


More Posts